Skip to main content

Our Salaf: Hafs Bin Humaid asked Ibnul Mubaarak about the deviant sects

Hafs Bin Humaid (rahimahullaah) said: I said to Abdullaah Ibnul Mubaarak (rahimahullaah), “How many sects has this Ummah spilt into?” So he said, “The foundation of the sects are four: The shia, the hurooriyyah (i.e. khawaarij), the qadariyyah and the murji’ah. The shia (further) split into twenty-two sects; the hurooriyyah (further) split into twenty-one sects; the qadariyyah (further) split into sixteen sects and the murji’ah (further) split into thirteen sects.


[Al-Ibaanah of Ibn Battah 1/379-380]

Related Posts

Donate to the Dawah



Follow Us


Back to Top

More Articles



Manhaj (Methodology)

Fiqh (Rulings & Jurisprudence)

Women & Family

Innovations in Islam

More Categories